One thing that was cool to me about living in the military housing was the many family of deer that roams throughout our neighborhood. Of course they dont let people get too close to them but it's neat to take my dog out for a walk and see the beautiful, majestic animals quietly grazing on the grass. Until one night a gate guard told me that the only reason the deer come into our neighborhood is to get away from the hunters. I couldn't believe that we have deer hunting going on here on our base! It suddenly made me sad to see them when I know they're running and hiding for their lives from the very people that live around me. I think it's contradictory to praise our military for "protecting" our country when these innocent deer are from of this country but they can't feel safe in their own living area! Plus, it's not even like these hunters are killing them for food to survive, at least then there would be a reason for the death. But no. It's just for fun? It makes me sick. I wish our military would be joining causes that help animals instead of hurting animals. But then again, I've never understood why hunting of any sort is still allowed now that people can go to the store and buy food to eat with no problem but also with the way our planet has animals going extinct. Wasn't it ranchers and poachers that wiped out most of our wolves? Has nobody learned from these things? I mean, if it's wrong to pick up a gun and shoot some random squirell then why is it okay to pick up a gun and kill a deer? Just because you have a license? Then why is there no license for squirells or any other random animal? I wonder if our military will keep allowing our soldiers and sailors to kill deer for fun until they have to make them stop? Like once our country's deer are going extinct? I just don't see why any of this is okay? I wish that everyone would rally together to make our military bases safe for all people and animals on it! What's you're opinion?
No comments:
Post a Comment